top of page

9/16/2020 Great News during a bad situation!

I was thinking about Lexi & feeling really low. I don't normally write poems, but I felt so drawn to do so this night. It was so difficult to write as I couldn't see through the tears. Not more than 5 minutes after writing it out, the phone rang. It was the dog trainer! I answered to hear him say "It's official, Bridget is officially yours! I could hardly believe my ears! Having a service dog means so much to me & there was an instant connection to her. It just seemed too good to be true! My tears of sadness instantly turned to tears of joy. I believe the poem that I wrote was what I needed to say goodbye, so that I could say hello. I had felt so guilty about having, or loving another dog, as if I would be betraying Lexi somehow, even though I know that's not really the case. The poem was my way of letting her know that she will always be loved & never forgotten. I can now start my new journey with Bridget & I now have had hope restored. Everything is so much harder without a service dog. A very huge & special thanks to this trainer for making it all possible! I'm looking forward to seeing the changes in Bridget as she learns to become my service dog. Rather than leaving the poem handwritten, I typed it out on rainbow paper & placed it in her shadowbox of memories. I have no doubts that Lexi knows my love, & I now feel able to move on to the next chapter of my life with Bridget.







Comments


Mom getting fluids.jpg

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

 Thank you for stopping by. It's my hope that our story will spread very needed awareness about EDS, POTS, & MCAS, along with encouraging others to continue pushing forward. I also hope to spread awareness about service dogs as so many that are in need have no idea where to go, or how to start. Also, so many people don't understand how to act around a service dog causing distraction & possible injury to the handler. 

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page